Kawi2strokes.com Forum

Enthusiasts from around the world dedicated to the preservation and ritual flogging of the infamous Kawasaki 2-stroke Triples
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:06 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: LED TVs
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2019 3:50 pm 
Site Admin

I have a TCL 65" LED tv that is about 3yr old. It quit working.... sound, no pic.
I used to repair tvs for a living about 45 yr ago... they've changed!

I decided I'd see what makes these things tick and maybe repair it myself. I found that t hey are really pretty simple and all of them have a similar design. There are only 5 PC boards that contain most of the working components and those boards are available to purchase on Ebay at a fraction of the cost of a new tv. Time to give it a go!

There were only 3 of the boards that could cause my problem. I ordered the most likely... didn't fix it. Ordered the other two and that didn't fix it either. After doing some more research I discovered that my problem was the LEDs used for backlight were not functioning. There is an LED driver board that supplies power to the LEDs that are backlight and power was available from that board but no backlight.

In an LED tv there is a backlight made up of numerous LEDs that give off a white light. That light shines thru the screen panel to give a picture. In my 65" there are 84 LEDs... 12 strips of 7 each.

It is a major job to get to the LEDs for testing and/or replacement... a small screen wouldn't be too bad but a 65" is a bear. The front screen must be removed from the bezel, etc, etc.

Once I finally got it apart and checked the LEDs with a home made tester I found 27 of 84 LEDs were bad.... one complete strip of 7. I have replacements ordered.