Kawi2strokes.com Forum

Enthusiasts from around the world dedicated to the preservation and ritual flogging of the infamous Kawasaki 2-stroke Triples
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:18 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 6:47 am 

I work in the print industry, which has been declining due to technology. Think Internet...catalogs all but gone, mailings are down, books in general are down, paper maps, etc etc....

I make a somewhat decent rate, but its the overtime that has made things possible, seriously for 23 years, steady and reliable. My best years here money wise was a 3 year streak ending the year before last. Of course in any situation it is wrong to think that an anomaly could become the norm.

Having said that, no wage increase in over 12 years. Health care cost is CRAZY. I mean 283 a WEEK!!! and I have to have it because my wife has some serious issues. When the Overtime is rolling, I dont think much about the healthcare cost. However, there were some long slow spells this year...got in hot water with my mortgage company a year after buying my dream house (modest I assure you, coming from a Baltimore row house previously)

This year the market has slowed somewhat, and they are clamping down on the overtime hard. There are also trends here that are reducing the amount of work coming through the door that I get to actually do. I looked for a part time job to make up the difference and even started working at a warehouse on the weekends.
I think I applied for 15 part time jobs but there was one full time position that I put in for,sort of just for the hell of it and after 12 weeks of tests, interviews, a breakfast, and a meeting with my would be co workers I actually got an offer. It's a different industry and yet somehow it pays more than what I am making here now after 23 years. (red flag anyone?)