Kawi2strokes.com Forum

Enthusiasts from around the world dedicated to the preservation and ritual flogging of the infamous Kawasaki 2-stroke Triples
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 5:37 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: bad oil leak
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:56 pm 

hello, guys, i am new to triples. i recently bought a 1975 h1, the bike sat for 13 years. so after rebuilding carbs, and repairing the electrics, it started on the third kick ! after that one kick with no choke ! anyway, i had some oil leaking, i replaced the sprocket seal that looked suspect. but I still have a substantial leak. Oil seemed to still be coming from the left side and really gushing with the stand not resting on a two by four. it seems to be coming out of the rear motor mount ? i know this sounds crazy but i pulled out the bolt and it is totally saturated with oil. am i nuts ? any help appreciated.

Post subject: Re: bad oil leak
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:22 pm 
Site Admin

It's probably the shift shaft seal. And Welcome to the board!

I moved your post the the correct section.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:30 pm 

thanks, yes i replaced the shift seal, any other ideas ? glad to be here !

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:36 pm 
Site Admin

There is only really 4 places oil can get out on the left side, The clutch mechanism seal, The sprocket seal, the O ring on the collar the sprocket bolts against and the shift shaft seal. Most Triple have the kickstand mount bent and leak on the side stand. So if it just leaks without the 2x4 then they may all be ok. Make sure our oil level is correct also.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:46 pm 

Thread above this right now that's similar.

http://kawi2strokes.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=2387

"really gushing with the stand not resting on a two by four."