Kawi2strokes.com Forum

Enthusiasts from around the world dedicated to the preservation and ritual flogging of the infamous Kawasaki 2-stroke Triples
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:05 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: New Triple Project
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:18 pm 

Hello all,
Just wanted to say hi and introduce myself along with asking for a pretty thorough outline of do's and dont's on my new project.
I am from MI and just moved down to TN (30 min from the dragon). My background is in Metallurgy and HT in the automotive industry and a few other skills not worth wasting time on.

I inherited my fathers 75 H2B that sat in the shed since I was a boy. And after other projects finished and marked off my list, I decided to start on this bike. I made a strong decision years ago that it wasn't going to sit in my shed for 20+ years as well. So here I am, ready to start but wanted to get some feedback and advice from all you guys before i get going down the wrong road.

I do not want to do a full restoration. My intention is to set it up with a more current suspension (new forks, AL wheels, Disc Brakes etc.) and put the engine in a nice powerful range. The intent for this bike is just to take it out once in a while and rip on it. So i am looking for as much as I can practically get without putting things in jeopardy. The bike has sat for so long that I intend to pull it all apart and start go through everything. About ten years I kicked it over and it fired up for about 20 sec then i shut it off. That is the only life it has seen in roughly 30 years.

My main questions are as follows:

1. I have read a tremendous amount on different guys are using different carbs for the same stage porting. Is there any foolproof way to setup for the desired porting, Purchasing the desired carbs for the porting only one time, and having somewhat straight forward tuning outlined? What carbs are recommended for which stage porting?